Skip to content

Reed Grasses at Midday

March 31, 2012

This post should be subtitled: take away my camera when the clock strikes noon. I guess it’s a little hard to plan to avoid shooting at noon into the sun during a winter day trip, but I’m a little amazed by how often I end up taking photos at that time, which means I’m regularly breaking the nearly set in stone photography rule of not shooting in the middle of the day. Until recently I thought of myself as an urban photographer, where I think midday shots can be more forgiving. In the shots below, I definitely had to pay for my folly. I found it challenging to adjust the colours yet keep them natural looking and still convey the feeling of a crisp, bright day (though maybe I should have left the original, washed-out shots as they were since the over-exposed look is so trendy).

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Magda permalink
    April 1, 2012 6:52 pm

    I love love love the last one. It’s almost a love note.

    • April 3, 2012 7:29 pm

      Wow! I can hardly believe that my photo illicited such an amazing and poetic comment! 🙂 Thank you!

  2. robert87004 permalink
    April 2, 2012 10:10 am

    If we followed that rule in New Mexico, we would never take photos. We have harsh light and strong shadows by 9:00 a.m. on sunny days at 5000+ feet. These photos are really striking, especially the 2nd.

    • April 3, 2012 7:26 pm

      Thank you for providing your approval for my breaking the rules! 🙂 I’m glad that you enjoyed these, and, I need to think about moving to New Mexico for all the sun you get!

  3. April 4, 2012 9:04 am

    Love the light in these shots!

  4. May 24, 2012 11:13 am

    Great shots—it’s so hard to take pictures of grasses!

    • May 24, 2012 11:19 am

      All the more so that it was rather windy that day. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

