Skip to content

Silver Vines

April 28, 2012

I stayed indoors for my photographic exercise today, and this vintage, silver-plated sugar and creamer set made a good prop for a study on close-ups and textures. (If anyone has the matching tea/ coffee pot for this set, let me know!)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2012 8:33 pm

    Love the closeup shot of the handle!

    • April 28, 2012 8:44 pm

      Thanks! I’ve always liked the way silver tarnishes and brings out a pattern.

  2. April 29, 2012 2:20 pm

    Beautiful shots with lovely details. Love them! šŸ™‚

  3. Magda permalink
    April 29, 2012 3:10 pm

    Love them too!

  4. April 29, 2012 6:10 pm

    The grapevine design was quite popular for a time in the early 1900s. I have some silverplated candleholders with a similar design that were passed down from my grandmother. Your photographs show the patina very nicely.

    • May 1, 2012 10:19 pm

      Looks like in addition to the pot, I now have to be on the lookout for candle holders. This set is by Viking Plate, apparently active from the 1930s, and yes, I love the patina on silver and prefer it to the super polished look. Thanks for your comment!

  5. Gigi Galore permalink
    May 23, 2012 5:24 am

    As I scrolled down, something moved the third photo – or it seemed like it! Really pretty!

    • May 23, 2012 9:25 am

      Thanks for letting me know. Everything seems fine on the html side, though I did notice I should have cleaned my table a little more thoroughly before taking the photos.

  6. May 23, 2012 11:47 am

    Love these. I’m always fascinated with teapots and try to photograph them when I can. You have some great DoF here!

  7. May 23, 2012 12:05 pm

    Thank you for the positive feedback, and if you ever see the matching teapot for this, let me know. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

