Skip to content

In The Distance

October 21, 2012

My dog, still for a nanosecond, only because he’s caught scent of something in the distance. I still have a way to go in the photographing a black dog category; I set my autofocus to one sensor and kept it on my dog’s eye (general autofocus mode always wants to focus only on his nose), but due to the sunlight reflecting off his eye, I think the lens did not focus perfectly. Does anyone have any tips for perfectly sharp pet photos?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2012 11:18 pm

    I get the whole ‘black dog’ dilemna – as well as black cats! Great photo!

    • October 22, 2012 10:06 pm

      And it’s all the harder because my dog never sits still when he’s out. Thanks for commenting, and good luck with the black cats!

  2. October 22, 2012 9:32 am

    I think this is a fantastic shot of your dog!

    • October 22, 2012 10:13 pm

      Thank you! I’m glad you like it. I hope it captures how focused and intense he is when he’s outside.

  3. July 28, 2013 1:36 pm

    Lovely photo. I know how difficult it is to photograph a black dog. My dog is black too, and I usually end up with an overexposed background, when I can get far enough away from him to get a photo.

Leave a Reply

